Announcing the Finalists of the 2017 Ohioana Book Awards!

Check out the finalists in the May 2017 Newsletter!


The first Ohioana Book Award, presented in 1942, was given in the category of nonfiction to James Reston’s  Prelude to Victory; Washington is Like That by Willard Kiplinger and The Long Ships Passing by Walter Havighurst received honorable mentions.

In 1943, the first Ohioana Book Awards for juvenile literature and  fiction were given to The Great Lakes by Marie Emilie Gilchrist (juvenile) and Bitter Honey by  Martin Joseph Freeman (fiction).

The first Ohioana poetry book award was given to Cloth of the Tempest by Kenneth Patchen and the “about Ohio or an Ohioan” book  award was given to Ohio Comes of Age by Philip Dillon Jordan in 1944.

In the following years, Ohioana added multiple non-book awards including the Ohioana Career Award, Ohioana Citations,  the Ohioana Pegasus Award, the James P. Barry Award for Editorial Excellence, the Helen and Laura Krout Memorial Ohioana Poetry Award,  and the Alice Louise Wood Memorial Ohioana Children’s Literature Award. Although many of these non-book awards were  suspended in 2011 due to funding cuts, Ohioana  continues to give the Ohioana Book Awards for outstanding books published each year in the  categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, juvenile literature, young adult literature, and books about Ohio or an Ohioan. We also continue to award the Walter Rumsey Marvin Grant each year for a young author (30 years of age or younger) who has not yet published a book. Nomination and entry forms can be found via the links below.